The MOJO Honours List 2010 with Acrylic Awards by Jamy

Jamy-mojo-award-2010-300x280Guitar legends Jimmy Page, Duane Eddy and Richard Thompson, each a master of rock and roll, were given recognition at the Mojo Honours at a ceremony held recently in London. Jamy are pleased to be involved with the 2010 Honours list, as they have been for previous years. As one of the very first companies in the UK to manufacture mouse mats we became known for our innovative thinking before our reputation was gained for flexibility, commitment to our clients and our ‘can do’ attitude.

However, today our manufacturing is largely centred on Acrylic Products used for point of sale (point of purchase), displays, promotional products, awards, signs, plaques, public art and decorative products such as mirrors, although we still offer the full range of badges, business gifts and promotional products … including mouse mats!

Kasabian’s track Fire was named song of the year and Richard Hawley took the best album prize for Truelove’s Gutter. The event also saw the former chart act Teardrop Explodes partially re-united for the first time in 28 years after falling apart acrimoniously. Members Gary Dwyer, David Balfe and Alan Gill were reunited for the first time since the line-up fell apart in 1982 to collect their Mojo Inspiration award. Cope, who went on to solo success, as well as becoming an eminent authority on monoliths, had been due to attend but failed to show at the last moment. Twenty one years after the release of The Stone Roses‘ acclaimed debut was released, it was rewarded for its “classic album” status.

The awards, from music magazine Mojo, largely honour classic acts with host of honorary titles. Former Led Zeppelin guitarist Jimmy Page – creator of killer riffs such as Whole Lotta Love – was inducted into the Mojo Hall Of Fame. He went from session work to a stint in The Yardbirds before forming Led Zep, becoming one of the most lauded players of all time.

Duane Eddy, known for his signature twangy style on tracks such as Peter Gunn, was named Mojo Icon. Richard Thompson, one of the pioneers of folk rock from his Fairport Convention days onwards, took the magazine’s Les Paul award, given to a guitar legend. Thompson, whose 1000 Years Of Popular Music live show notably includes songs dating from the 11th century to a Britney Spears cover, is currently curating the Meltdown festival at London’s South Bank.

Keyboard player Jean Michel Jarre, who scored chart hits with his synthesiser instrumentals such as Oxygene IV, took the lifetime achievement award. Former Soft Cell front man Marc Almond was named Mojo Hero as he celebrates his 30th year as a singer this year. Almond achieved a run of hits with musical partner Dave Ball in the early 80s, such as Tainted Love and Bedsitter, before going solo with songs like Jacky and The Days Of Pearly Spencer.

roy_woodAtmospheric Icelandic band Sigur Ros were rewarded for their outstanding contribution to music, while Roy Wood – who achieved chart success with The Move and Wizzard – was honoured as Classic Songwriter. Space-rock veterans Hawkwind, whose career has lasted more than 40 years, were named Mojo Mavericks.

Each one of the musicians who were honoured at the awards were given a high quality superb looking acrylic award, which will be displayed with pride. Acrylic is such a tactile material with its smooth surfaces and shiny crystal like appearance or, if you prefer a more textured finish. Your ideas, information or pieces will seem to float in the middle of the acrylic, forever frozen in time like an insect in Amber.

Share This Page: